The day-to-day running of the school and its management is undertaken by the Headteacher. The governing body is similar to a board of directors, making policy decisions about how the school should be run. Governors can only act together, not individually, and they meet regularly. All governors are DBS checked. The Governing Body of Little Gaddesden School meets seven times each year and alternates the focus of its meetings between Resources and Learning Matters as well as the wider business of the Governing Body.  Further detail is included in the Governing Body Schedule of Delegation (see link below). Minutes of the governors’ meetings are available from the school office.

Little Gaddesden Church of England Voluntary Aided Primary School has a governing body of twelve. There are seven Foundation Governors, with two appointed by the Diocese of St Albans Board of Education, and four appointed by the Parochial Church Council (PCC) of St Peter & St Paul, Little Gaddesden. The parish priest is a Foundation Governor ex officio. One governor is appointed by Hertfordshire County Council. There are two elected Parent Governors, and two Staff Governors (including the Headteacher).  In addition, the Governing Body may co-opt Associate Members at any time to make use of the specific expertise and experience they can contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

Parent governors bring the views of the parents to the governing body, but they speak and act as individuals. They should not be thought of as delegates or mouthpieces of the parents, and they do not vote for all parents in general. They have equal status in the work of the governing body, with voting rights. Parents elect two Parent Governors for four-year terms.

School Governors from October 2021

 Term StartTerm End
Lorna Elkes
Staff Governor
Amy Miles02 Dec 202101 Dec 2025
Foundation Diocesan Board of Education Appointed Governors
Nicholas Crispin01 Sep 201831 Aug 2022
Anne Heath (Chair)01 Sep 201931 Aug 2023
Foundation Ex-Officio Governor
Revd. John Russell
Parent Governors
Pippa Martin02 Oct 201801 Oct 2022
Simon Emmett16 Mar 202215 Mar 2026
Foundation Parochial Church Council Appointed Governors
Claire Owen01 Oct 202030 Sep 2024
Revd. Stuart Owen02 Dec 202101 Dec 2025
Laura Gill04 Dec 202103 Dec 2025
Philip Heaphy06 Jul 201905 Jul 2023
Local Authority Governor
Briony Sutcliffe24 Jun 201823 Jun 2022

Associate Members

Linda Buchanan-Barrow – 30 Apr 2021 to 29 Apr 2025; Carol Duguid – 13 Jul 2021 to 12 Jul 2025; Anne Heard – 1 Sep 2018 to 31 Aug 2022; Hayley McKenna – 30 Apr 2021 to 29 Apr 2025.

News from the School Governors

Governing Body Annual Report – June 2021

Governing Body Newsletter – June 2020

Governing Body Newsletter – June 2019

Governing Body Newsletter – June 2018

Governing Body – Schedule of Delegation Summary

Attendance at Governing Body meetings September 2020 to July 2021

Full Governing Body: 7 meetings
Linda Buchanan-Barrow (Associate Member) 1;  Nicholas Crispin 7;  Carol Duguid (Associate Member) 1;  Lorna Elkes 7;  Laura Gill 7;   Phil Heaphy 7;  Anne Heard (Associate Member) 4;  Anne Heath 7;  Pippa Martin 7;  Hayley McKenna (Associate Member) 3;  Claire Owen 6;  Lucy Patel 3;  John Russell 5;  Helen Sewell (Associate Member) 2;   Briony Sutcliffe 6.

Attendance at Governing Body meetings September 2019 to July 2020

Full Governing Body: 8 meetings
Nicholas Crispin 7;  Lorna Elkes 5; Charis Geoghegan 4;  Laura Gill 8;   
Phil Heaphy 7; Anne Heard (Associate Member) 5; Anne Heath 8; Pippa Martin 7; Claire Owen 7; Lucy Patel 8; John Russell 6;  Briony Sutcliffe 8;

Business and Other Interests

  • No governor has declared any business interests which might involve the school.
  • The Revd John Russell is also an ex officio governor of Great Gaddesden Church of England Primary School.
  • Briony Sutcliffe has relatives who are Chairs of Governors at local primary schools. She is also a governance consultant for Herts for Learning (HfL) and a DfE appointed national leader of governance for the National Governance Association (NGA).
  • No governor has any relative, spouse or partner employed by the school.

Ex-Governors who were in-post academic year 2020-21

Lucy Patel, Staff Governor.